LIVESTREAM GREEN GUEST ARTIST: THIRD COAST PERCUSSION

The DePauw School of Music’s final Green Guest Artist, Third Coast Percussion, will be presenting their April 22 concert live – available to you from the best seat in YOUR house! On Wednesday, April 22, at 8:30 p.m. EDT/7:30 p.m. CDT/6:30 p.m. MDT/5:30 p.m. PDT, this stellar group will livestream their Earth Day Concert, “Paddle to the Sea,” on the DePauw Music website and YouTube. The livestream is free and open to guests world-wide.

The classic Academy Award-nominated film, Paddle to the Sea (1961), is the focus of this new project that looks at humanity’s relationship to the bodies of water that connects our lives. The Chicago-based ensemble, Third Coast Percussion, composed a new score to be performed live with the film, alongside existing works inspired by impressions of water and the natural world, including music by composers Philip Glass, Jacob Druckman and the traditional music of the Shona people of Zimbabwe.

A direct connection with the audience is at the core of all of Third Coast Percussion’s work, whether the musicians are speaking from the stage about a new piece of music, inviting the audience to play along in a concert or educational performance, or inviting their fans around the world to create new music using one of their free mobile apps. The April 22 concert will include a live chat feature for online audiences.

WATCH THE LIVESTREAM HERE!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,