Indiana Department of Education Announces 2017-2018 Title I Distinguished Schools


The Indiana Department of Education (IDOE) today announced two schools as recipients of the 2017-2018 Title I Distinguished Schools Award. Awards will go to Chrisney Elementary School in North Spencer County School Corporation for Exceptional Student Performance, and Walnut Elementary School in South Montgomery Community School Corporation for Closing the Achievement Gap.

“I applaud the dedicated work of the students, educators, families, staff, and communities of Chrisney Elementary in North Spencer County and Walnut Elementary in South Montgomery Schools,” said Dr. Jennifer McCormick, Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction. “These schools represent the vision of working together for student success by creating environments whereby all children have the opportunity to succeed.”

IDOE selected Chrisney Elementary School and Walnut Elementary after a rigorous data review and interview process, to identify successful, high-poverty schools with varied student populations and locations. For more information, please visit:

Tags: , ,