Will Power wins Indy 500, No. 17 for car owner Roger Penske

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) Will Power has won the INDIANApolis 500, giving
the 37-year-old Australian his biggest victory on IndyCar’s
grandest stage.

Power took the lead with four laps to go when Oriol Servia and Jack
Harvey had to pit for fuel. Power then held off pole winner Ed
Carpenter over the final few laps for the victory.

It gave team owner Roger Penske a 17th win in the Indy 500 and it
was Power’s second straight victory this season. He won the
road-course event at Indy earlier this month.

With hot weather creating a slick, 2 +-mile oval, new cars with
less downforce proved to be handful. And it cost a number of
big-name drivers a shot at IndyCar’s most prestigious event.
Defending race winner Takuma Sato, Danica Patrick, Sebastien
Bourdais, three-time winner Helio Castroneves and Tony Kanaan lost
control and wrecked.

Patrick was making the final start of her racing career, completing
the ”Danica Double” at the Indy 500. Bourdais crashed a year
after missing the race because of a harrowing, high-speed accident
during qualifying. Castroneves was going for a record-tying fourth
victory in the 500.

Tags: ,