Awards Presented to Local Troopers

On Friday, October 7, 2016, the Indiana State Police held an awards ceremony for department personnel at the Indiana Government Center in Indianapolis. Ten troopers who reside within the Putnamville District were among those recognized. Those receiving Commendation Awards were: Lieutenant Dan Jones, First Sergeant Tom Hannon, Sergeant Joe Rutledge, and Troopers Todd Brown, David Petrowski, Michael Taylor, Brent Robinson, Marcus Tow, and Tyler Van Ness.

The awards were the result of their actions on July 13, 2013 in Clay County. The officers responded to a domestic violence call reporting a male holding a female against her will. Through a window of the residence, troopers could see the female victim was being physically restrained and appeared to have been battered. After a few moments of attempted negotiations with the suspect, it became clear to the officers that the male was becoming increasingly agitated and the danger to the victim was most likely going to increase. The troopers devised a plan to forcefully enter the residence at two access points and upon doing so, the male made an aggressive movement toward the female. Troopers utilized a Taser (electronic control device) to subdue the suspect, where he was taken into custody and incarcerated in the Clay County Justice Center. The female sustained no further injuries and was medically treated and released.

Tags: , , , , ,