County football players to compete in WVFCA game

FB 200x200 SPORTS

For the 12th straight year the Wabash Valley Football Coaches Association All-Star game will be held at Terre Haute North High School at 7:30 p.m. on June 25. Eleven players and one coach from Putnam County will take part in the event.

Greencastle will be represented by Anthony Rossok and Chase Chew. Brayden White, Daniel Huffman, Bobby Scheele, Bailey Allen and Brad Hodges will compete for North Putnam.

South Putnam will have the largest distribution from the county including head coach Nathan Aker who will be an assistant coach for the Black division squad. On his roster will be former Eagles Joe Masters, Brandon Gierke, Daniel Grundlock, Jimmy Rutter, Will Cruse and Matt Schnepp.

Head coaches for this year’s game are Mark Raetz of Northview for the Black Division squad and Brian Oliver from Linton-Stockton handling the Gold Division squad.

Each team will be made up of 33 players from Wabash Valley schools.

Practices will start on June 19th at ISU’s Memorial Stadium at 10 a.m. A banquet for the players and their guest will be on June 24 in ISU’s Hulman Center.

For information on the banquet or the game, contact Tom Jones at or call him at (812) 878-4572. Banquet tickets are $30.

Black Division

Cascade — Gavin Blackburn; Covington — Connor Phelps, Peyton Cuttrell; Cumberland (Ill.) — Dreyton Ruholl, Gunnar McMehcan; Mattoon (Ill.) — Braden Smith, Hayden Phillips, Luke Collings; Northview — Ben Girton, Tucker Stewart, Liam Jones, Jacob Dean, Marcus Duregger, Hunter Ragan; Paris (Ill.) — Zach Cox, Kenny Milam; Red Hill (Ill.) — Dalton Murray, Carter Baetke; Rockville — Nick Loomis; South Putnam — Joe Masters, Brandon Gierke, Daniel Grundlock, Jimmy Rutter, Will Cruse, Matt Schnepp; South Vermillion — Hunter Thornton, Austin Eup, Peyton Clark, Jarrett Hendrix (Mgr.); Sullivan — Sheridan Sater, Luke Spurlock, Colton Harrison; Terre Haute North — Logan Grim, Mikey Hettinger, Stefan Massey, Josh Schefke, Kyle Lawrence; Tri-County (Ill.) — Michael Hudson, Cody Hood; Turkey Run — Drew Ferguson, Tyler Davis; West Vigo — Hunter Voils, Dakota Short, Nick Parker, Luke Bigger, Josh Beasley.

Coaches — Mark Raetz, Northview, head coach; Troy Johnson, Mattoon; John Szabo, Northview; Aaron Edwards, Northview; Will Porter, South Vermillion; Nathan Aker, South Putnam; Chris Ellis, Terre Haute North.

Gold Division

Casey (Ill.) — Corey Carver; Edgewood — Alex Pittsford, Jay Farely; Greencastle — Anthony Rossok, Chase Chew; Linton — Dylan Morris, Pierce Jackson, Mitch Eberhardt, Chad Trent, Tietje Pigg, Zach Phegley; Marshall (Ill.) — Travis Adams, Tanner Liffick, Jess Hemmen, Justin Sanders; North Central — Trey Thompson, Ian McCombs; North Daviess — Aaron Steffy, Andrew Steffy; North Putnam — Brayden White, Bobby Scheele, Brad Hodges, Daniel Huffman, Bailey Allen; North Vermillion — Cody Wright, Kyle Wickens; Oblong (Ill.) — Dalton Noblit, Wes Jones, Haze Lemmon; Olney (Ill.) — Austin Ameter, Derek Deimel, Naaman Umfleet, Trevor Jones; Owen Valley — Bo Elliott, Dylan Townsend, Jacob Ward, Caleb Summerlot, Lane Trimble; Palestine (Ill.) — Jacob Weaver, Ben Martinez; Riverton Parke — Seth Shaffer; Robinson (Ill.) — Mason Shew, Lucas Roth; Terre Haute South — Drake Latta, Justin Cornelous, Kam Bell, Alberto Piloni, Lane Bonar, Ben Dillion.

Coaches — Brian Oliver, Linton, head coach; Mark Gennicks, Linton; Charlie Karazsia, WVFCA Hall of Fame; Todd Evers, Marshall; Brian Crabtree, North Vermillion, Ben Blank, North Vermillion; Tim Herrin, Terre Haute South, Lonnie Sapp, Terre Haute South.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,