Six Former Student-Athletes to Enter Hall of Fame on October 10

Greencastle, Ind. – Six former student-athletes comprise the 29th DePauw Athletics Hall of Fame class which will earn induction on Saturday, October 10.

The 2015 class includes Beth Broering Ernst ’01 (women’s swimming and diving/track and field), Bob Cathcart ’82 (football), Brett Crist (men’s basketball), Cara Duckworth ’02 (field hockey), Brett Hecko ’92 (men’s basketball) and Ginny (McCracken) Vogel ’83 (women’s basketball).

A two-sport student-athlete, Ernst earned all-America honors in the high jump at the 2000 NCAA Division III Outdoor Track and Field Championships after finishing in a tie for eighth in the event. She graduated with four school records in track and field and still holds DePauw’s outdoor high jump record. As a senior, Broering was named the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Diver of the Year.

Cathcart was a linebacker for the Tigers who was second on the team as a sophomore with 77 tackles and intercepted three passes as a senior in helping the Tigers to a then school-record nine wins.

Crist graduated as DePauw’s all-time leading scorer with 1,694 points and earned Basketball Gazette All-America honors in 1991 and honorable mention all-America in 1990. He set a DePauw single-season record with 604 points during the 1989-90 season as he helped DePauw to an appearance in the NCAA Division III championship game.

Duckworth earned all-America honors three times including second team in 1999 and 2001 and third team in 2000. As a senior she led the team in goals (16), assists (6) and points (38). Her 37 career goals still rank 10th in DePauw history, while her 25 assists are fourth and her 99 points are ninth.

Hecko remains DePauw’s all-time rebounding leader as he graduated with 893 and is second in scoring with 1,675 points. He earned Basketball Gazette All-America accolades in 1992 and was the Indiana Collegiate Athletic Conference Player of the Year in 1992.

Vogel graduated as the program’s all-time leader in points (959) and rebounds (718) and still ranks 18th in scoring and fourth in rebounding. Her 9.1 rebounds per game for her career remain a DePauw record as do her 10.9 boards per game during the 1982-83 season.

The induction ceremony is set to take place at 10 a.m. on October 10 in Moore Theatre of the Judson and Joyce Green Center for the Performing Arts. The honorees will also be recognized at halftime of the football game against Wittenberg which kicks off at 2 p.m.

The DePauw Athletics Hall of Fame has inducted 190 individuals and three teams starting with the charter class of 25 individuals. A complete listing of inductees if available here.

Tags: , ,