State’s Request for Secretarial Disaster Declaration Approved in 53 Counties

Today, the U.S. Department of Agriculture approved a secretarial disaster declaration for 53 of Indiana’s 92 counties as requested by Governor Mike Pence, Lt. Governor Sue Ellspermann, and Indiana Farm Service Agency Executive Director Julia A. Wickard in a letter to the U.S. Department of Agriculture Secretary Thomas Vilsack in late July. The request came after Indiana farmers suffered significant crop damage and losses caused by flooding and excessive rain since May 1 of this year. Under the secretarial disaster declaration, low-interest emergency loans are available to all producers suffering losses in the 53 counties for which the secretarial disaster declaration has been approved, as well as in affected contiguous counties. Farmers interested in applying for loans can click on the link provided to you below.